Just do it

I haven’t posted in a long time. I’m guilty of feeling like I have to prove something with every post or that longer posts are more engaging. Rather than worry about content, I’m going to try and post short quips more frequently.

I recently had a student who was gifted online lessons with me. She hadn’t scheduled a lesson in several months and I began to wonder why. I finally sent her an email asking her about why we hadn’t had a lesson in a long time. Turns out, she thought she had to have her music 100% learned. She’s a college student and thought that lessons were like tests and she wanted to get an A+ for her efforts. I told her that lessons are a part of the process and that they should not be feared, that it’s best to get some guidance before bad habits set in and are too difficult to change. Her eyes lit up with glee, she felt free and inspired to schedule her next lesson sooner rather than later.

I was so happy to clear up that misconception. Lessons are simply, well, lessons!

IMG_0538

True. But it’s ok to have a lesson and get some early feedback.

 

About Polly van der Linde

Pianist, teacher, director of International Piano Camps in VT, for adults and children of all levels of ability
This entry was posted in Piano, Piano practice, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just do it

  1. Jan Mitchell says:

    I loved this post. I took my music to University o Michigan in 1957. I was so happy there were practice pianos in the basement of the dorm. I took my music when I went off to the University of Michigan in 1957. They had practice pianos in the basement of the dorm. I went done to those pianos when I needed a peaceful moment doing what I loved then and still do. Thanks Polly. I hope to get to camp again in the not too distant future. Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Polly, You cannot post when you are putting on huge birthday parties for your 80 year old Mom!!

Leave a Reply

